Do you have a favourite planet?

26Aug06

I do. It’s Pluto. Oh wait he’s not a plant anymore. How are you going to explain that to my childhood fantasy? Tell me, how?

I’m fascinated by this “change” but more on the fact that we can just change things around cause with named/labeled them in the first place. The glory of Pluto lasted 76 years. Now he is a dwarf/minor planet.

Inspiring future explorers

Becky Peltonen, an elementary school teacher in Panama City, Florida, had mixed feelings.
“On one hand, I like for the eight to have exclusivity, because you need to have certain characteristics to be a planet. It shows kids that some things do have to change. We need to teach modern science and use the new definitions,” Peltonen said.
“But on the other hand, I’d like to stick with tradition,” she said. “Let Pluto be grandfathered in.”
Peltonen was disappointed about the astronomical union’s about-face on numbers. “I wanted them to add the planets, because I think that would inspire the next generation of explorers that there are things out there to be discovered.”
Peltonen, who teaches science to all grades at Oscar Patterson Elementary School, had her fifth-graders sing their mneumonic “planets song” after the news of Pluto’s downgrade.
“I’m going to have to write a new song!” she said when they finished.
A top science teacher pointed out another change. “Teachers will have to redo their murals,” Gerry Wheeler, executive director of the National Science Teachers Association, said.

_ source
Oh the tragedy! A new song, new murals… a new explorer path!

“The decision by the prestigious international group spells out the basic tests that celestial objects will have to meet before they can be considered for admission to the elite cosmic club.

For now, membership will be restricted to the eight “classical” planets in the solar system: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune.”

source

__

Puto was my fav as a child cause he was the farthest, dimmest and smallest. But since they discovered UB13 and other similar orbits [76 years a bit too late don’t you think?], he will just be known as just another midget planet.

I’m telling you, there are many angry kids out there.

5 Responses to “Do you have a favourite planet?”

  1. 1 Trashmouth

    Well, it will take some getting used to, but I think we’ll all be able to cope sooner or later. Besides, it is considered a dwarf planet, so I guess it’s still a planet. Scientists can change definitions all they want, but little Pluto still circles the sun, which is what planets do. However, I heard that this new change also makes one of Pluto’s moons into a dwarf planet. Not sure where I heard that, but, if so, things are getting a little screwy with the new definition.

  2. 2 E(liz!)abeth

    think of the ramifications for disney…

  3. 3 Pat Duffy

    I CANT BELIEVE THAT PLUTO IS NOT A PLANET ANYMORE!!?!?! I was not aware of this and am now sad. While Pluto was not my favorite planet, I feel like they are now saying that what I was taught all through grade school was a lie!

    I feel so decieved!

  4. I am an astrologer. Pluto is a planet and its influce on the birth chart is so strong. if Pluto make an aspect to the birth chart especially Sun, Moon and the rising sign.

    In your personal horoscope Pluto symbolizes death, rebirth, sex, evolution, degeneration and regeneration. In your personal chart if Pluto conjunction, square, opposition with your Sun it gives strog ego and makes you oppressive. If Pluto conjunction, square, opposition with your Venus it gives strong jealousy.

    So astrolgers always observed Pluto’s infuluces on peoples personal horoscope charts.

  5. the radar bell will arm or alarm when you say that!


Leave a Reply

